Skip to main content

May 24, 2017

Consolidation Implementation Committee Approves Academic Structure for the New Georgia Southern University

SAVANNAH, Ga., (May 24, 2017) — In an effort to continue to support student success, the Armstrong State University/Georgia Southern University Consolidation Implementation Committee (CIC) reviewed and approved a new academic structure for the new Georgia Southern University earlier today.

The consolidated Georgia Southern University will consist of nine colleges: the Allen E. Paulson College of Engineering and Computing, the College of Arts and Humanities, the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences, the College of Business, the College of Education, the Waters College of Health Professions, the Jiann-Ping Hsu College of Public Health, the College of Science and Mathematics and the Jack N. Averitt College of Graduate Studies, as indicated on the academic structure chart found here.

“We couldn’t move forward with continuing to populate our entire organizational structure until we had this academic structure in place,” said Georgia Southern University President Jaimie L. Hebert, Ph.D. “Institutions are dynamic entities that continue to change. This is our starting point to get this new institution moving forward.”

The CIC considered an alternate academic structure proposal from faculty members, in accordance with President Hebert’s request at the previous CIC meeting at Georgia Southern on May 10. After extensive discussion, the CIC ultimately decided to approve the original proposal.

Additional Operational Working Group recommendations also were approved in a variety of areas including faculty development, honors programs and undergraduate research, international programs and study abroad, research services and sponsored programs, admissions, orientation and family programs, athletics, public relations and media, social media, student conduct and academic integrity, preserving traditions and history, and leadership and volunteer programs.

On Jan. 11, 2017, the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia voted to consolidate Armstrong State University and Georgia Southern University, ultimately creating a new Georgia Southern University with three campus locations in Savannah, Hinesville and Statesboro. CIC members, Functional Area co-chairs and OWGs uniting Armstrong and Georgia Southern faculty and staff are currently examining and working through all aspects of the consolidation.

For updates regarding the consolidation between Georgia Southern University and Armstrong State University, please visit


Armstrong State University, part of the University System of Georgia, was founded in 1935. Today, the university offers more than 100 undergraduate and graduate academic programs in the College of Liberal Arts, the College of Science and Technology, the College of Education and the College of Health Professions. Armstrong serves approximately 7,100 students at its main campus in Savannah and at a regional center in Hinesville. The university’s diverse student population comes from 43 states, the District of Columbia and 67 countries. Visit

Georgia Southern University, a public Carnegie Doctoral/Research University founded in 1906, offers more than 125 degree programs serving 20,673 students. Through eight colleges, the University offers bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degree programs built on more than a century of academic achievement. Georgia Southern is recognized for its student-centered and hands-on approach to education. Visit

Last updated: 5/24/2017