Skip to main content

August 17, 2017

Appointments Solidify Two Universities Coming Together as One

SAVANNAH, Ga., (Aug. 17, 2017) – Georgia Southern University President Jaimie Hebert, Ph.D., is pleased to announce the appointments of several academic and administrative leaders for the new Georgia Southern University.

Effective January 1, 2018, contingent upon the Board of Regents’ approval of the new, consolidated institution:

Christopher Curtis, Ph.D. will serve as the Vice President for Armstrong and Liberty Campus Operations.

Amy Heaston, Ed.D. will serve as Chief of Staff in the Office of the President.

Additional appointments include the deans of the colleges. The Provosts and faculty members from both institutions were involved in the decision regarding the dean appointments. The deans include:

Allen Amason, Ph.D. – Dean of the College of Business
Mohammed S. Davoud, Ph.D., P.E. – Dean of the Allen E. Paulson College of Engineering and Computing
Greg Evans, Ph.D., M.P.H. – Dean of the Jiann-Ping Hsu College of Public Health
Delana Gajdosik-Nivens, Ph.D. – Dean of the College of Science and Mathematics
Patrice Buckner Jackson, Ed.D. – Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
Barry Joyner, Ph.D. – Dean of the Don and Cindy Waters College of Health Professions
Thomas R. Koballa, Jr., Ph.D. – Dean of the College of Education
John Kraft, Ph.D. – Interim Dean of the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences*
Curtis Ricker, Ph.D. – Dean of the College of Arts and Humanities

*A national search for a permanent dean of the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences will begin in the coming months.

“This carefully selected group of individuals will help lead the new consolidated University, representing the interests of all its campuses, students, faculty and staff with a unified mission focused on the success of the students,” said Georgia Southern University President Jaimie L. Hebert, Ph.D.

“I am proud to see the entire list representing the collective leadership of two fine institutions coming together as one,” said Armstrong State University President Jennifer L. Frum, Ph.D. “It is a significant step forward for students, faculty, staff and the region.”

On Jan. 11, 2017, the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia voted to consolidate Armstrong State University and Georgia Southern University, ultimately creating a new Georgia Southern University with three campus locations in Savannah, Hinesville and Statesboro. CIC members, Functional Area co-chairs and OWGs uniting Armstrong and Georgia Southern faculty and staff are currently examining and working through all aspects of the consolidation.

For updates regarding the consolidation between Georgia Southern University and Armstrong State University, visit

Georgia Southern University, a public Carnegie Doctoral/Research University founded in 1906, offers 118 degree programs serving 20,673 students. Through eight colleges, the University offers bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degree programs built on more than a century of academic achievement. Georgia Southern is recognized for its student-centered and hands-on approach to education. Visit

Armstrong State University, part of the University System of Georgia, was founded in 1935. Today, the university offers more than 100 undergraduate and graduate academic programs in the College of Liberal Arts, the College of Science and Technology, the College of Education and the College of Health Professions. Armstrong serves approximately 7,100 students at its main campus in Savannah and at a regional center in Hinesville. The university’s diverse student population comes from 43 states, the District of Columbia and 67 countries. Visit

Last updated: 8/18/2017