Skip to main content


On Dec. 12, the University System of Georgia Board of Regents approved resolutions making the consolidation Armstrong State University and Georgia Southern University official as of Jan. 1, 2018. The new, consolidated institution continues under the name Georgia Southern University.

The consolidation of these institutions enables the University System of Georgia to better serve students, broaden and redesign academic programs offered in the region and reinvest savings into academics to improve student success. Through consolidation, the USG and these institutions seek to better support their surrounding communities by strategically aligning degree offerings with institutional talents and regional needs. The Board of Regents action follows the recent approval by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) of Georgia Southern University’s consolidation plans.

Last updated: 2/11/2018